I’m a good little web user, at least I think so. I mind my P’s and Q’s, stay away from downloading movies and music that will earn me attention from the MPAA and RIAA, and I steer clear of the sometimes questionable content available on the interwebs.
So, I was surprised one day to boot my home computer and immediately receive several dozen firewall alerts that an IP claiming to be “i2.microsoft.com” was attempting to access my VPC (Virtual PC).

For a moment, I entertained the thought of allowing the connection; being an almost brand new install of the VPC client, I thought it may have been standard procedure to check back with Microsoft for software updates.
But then the IP seemed a bit strange. I knew Microsoft usually operated in the high 190’s to low 200’s of the IP subnet, with the occasional bounce into the mid 60’s. But this IP started with 72.246.x.x. Intrigued, I ran a WHOIS and was surprised to come up with the following listing masquerading as a Microsoft connection:
OrgName: Akamai Technologies
OrgID: AKAMAI
Address: 8 Cambridge Center
City: Cambridge
StateProv: MA
PostalCode: 02142
Country: US
NetRange: 72.246.0.0 – 72.247.255.255
CIDR: 72.246.0.0/15
NetName: AKAMAI-ARIN-1
NetHandle: NET-72-246-0-0-1
Parent: NET-72-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: ACCESS.AKAMAI.COM
NameServer: YA.AKAMAI.COM
Comment:
RegDate: 2005-03-14
Updated: 2007-03-14
RNOCHandle: NF81-ARIN
RNOCName: Freedman, Noam
RNOCPhone: +1-617-938-3130
RNOCEmail: noam+arin@akamai.com
OrgTechHandle: NF81-ARIN
OrgTechName: Freedman, Noam
OrgTechPhone: +1-617-938-3130
OrgTechEmail: noam+arin@akamai.com
# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2007-10-14 19:10
Seeing as how ARIN said the entry was updated the very day I got these connection attempts, I was fairly certain in my information.
So then that leads me to one question: who the heck are Akamai and why would they need to be sending connection requests to my VPC??
After a bit of research, it seems that Akamai is some sort of hosting and “internet content caching” company, who will host and server such things as massive amounts of pictures or applications for heavy traffic sites such as Yahoo and, in this case, Microsoft. What exactly constitutes “internet content caching” is beyond me, but it sounds too much like keeping records you really should not be keeping.
I apparently was not alone in wondering why Akamai was giving my firewall tizzies; Ask Leo had a somewhat similar incidence posted to their site.
When a site is “Akamaized”, requests for certain content go through different servers instead of the host site you’re connecting to. You the user end up playing the middle man as your browser does an about-face and begins pulling content from other servers besides the site you’re visiting. Usually, this happens seamlessly behind the scenes; but in some cases, an unexpected connection termination in whatever process Akamai uses to have you download content fails and you or someone unfortunate enough to snag your IP address begin to be bombarded with phony connection attempts and activity vaguely reminiscent of port scanning and network mapping.
Akamai still makes press after all these allegations, with news of Windows Updates hosted by them turning around and sending encrypted connection attempts back to client machines, and vulnerabilities that allow hackers to take over and control an Akamai Manager suite.
So, is Akamai just in trying to connect to my VPC? Whether they are or are not well within their rights to randomly access network services on my computer (which I highly doubt), I don’t want anyone I’ve never heard of and never done business with in my computer.
So, leave me alone, Akamai! Go do your “market research” on someone else’s computer.